Bilingualism

"Hello / Bonjour"

Myth or reality?

In our opinion, Fredericton is predominantly anglophone at 80 or even 90%. If you do not go to French-speaking places such as: the Sainte-Anne Community Center (reception center for new immigrants but also a meeting and sharing place for the French-speaking community) or even French schools or daycares, the city is more English-oriented.

Here in NB, they have at school an immersion program called "French immersion". Kids can learn at a very early age how to speak in French. This program highlight the bilingualism in the province.

Communicate in French on a daily basis in Fredericton

Everyday, I communicate 95% of the time in English. I am bilingual and living in Fredericton is a real pleasure for me to improve my English a little more every day. Jean-Sébastien, my husband, has a basic level in English (basic). For his daily life he found a great new friend! His name ? "GOOGLE TRANSLATE"!

 

Bilingualism in the rest of the province

The north of the province is mostly francophone and the south anglophone. To give you an idea of ​​the cities, I would say that Moncton is bilingual, Dieppe rather francophone, Saint John anglophone. Bilingualism is therefore very present in the province, especially in terms of the services offered by the provincial and federal governments, where the service must be able to be provided in both official languages.

Learning English

Get a bit of English so you have some basic knowledge for your daily life. You will see that exchanging in English with an English speaker will be very appreciated and vice versa in French. Our little "Frenchi" accent will always have an effect! :)

Le bilinguisme 

"Hello, Bonjour"

Mythe, ou réalité?

Fredericton serait d’après nous majoritairement anglophone à 80 voir 90 % de notre point de vue. Si vous ne fréquentez pas les lieux francophones tels que : le Centre communautaire Sainte-Anne (centre d’accueil pour les nouveaux immigrants mais aussi lieu de rencontres et de partage pour la communauté francophone) ou encore les établissements scolaires ou garderies francophones, la ville est plus tournée vers l’anglais. 

Les enfants anglophones peuvent dès le primaire (ici dit "première année") participés au programme dit « d’immersion en langue française ». Ceci est un programme qui met en valeur le bilinguisme de la province.

Communiquer en français au quotidien à Fredericton

Dans la vie de tous les jours je communique 95% du temps en anglais. Je suis bilingue et de vivre à Fredericton est pour moi un vrai plaisir pour améliorer un peu plus chaque jour mon anglais. Jean-Sébastien, mon époux, à un niveau scolaire en anglais (basique). Pour son quotidien il a trouvé un super nouvel ami ! Son nom ? « GOOGLE TRANSLATE » !

 

Le bilinguisme dans le reste de la province

Le nord de la province est plutôt francophone et le sud anglophone. Pour vous donner une idée des villes, je dirai que Moncton est bilingue, Dieppe plutôt francophone, Saint John anglophone. Le bilinguisme est alors très présent dans la province surtout en terme de services qu’offre le gouvernement provincial et fédéral où le service doit obligatoirement pouvoir être donné dans les deux langues officielles.

Vous et l'anglais

Mettez vous un peu à l'anglais afin d'avoir des notions pour votre quotidien. Vous verrez que d'échanger en anglais avec un anglophone sera très apprécié et vice versa en français. Notre petit accent "frenchi" fera toujours son petit effet! :)