IMG_1638.JPG

OUR FIRST STEPS IN CANADA

"Success is a consequence and not a goal"

The excitement was at its height at the descent of the aircraft. After 8 hours of flight we are on the Canadian soil at Montreal International Airport, on the verge of making our Canadian adventure come true.

We landed on Wednesday August 28, 2019 at the Montreal airport. To validate your Permanent Residency (PR) you must go through an immigration office. We had a 1h30 stopover in Montreal. Then we were supposed to fly from Montreal to Fredericton... well.. just a friendly advice, make sure you have a 4 hours connecting flight if you don't want to miss it :) We missed our connection to Fredericton and Air Canada told us that our luggage left without us on the flight we were originally supposed to take. We spent one night without luggages , no clothes, no formula for Tya, not enough diapers ..! What a great start as a PR ...

We took our flight the next day, which was the day of my birthday! We were so happy to finally arrive! Well .. an immigration without little stories to tell, that would not be a real successful immigration! So to continue with our small misadventures we found out that our luggages were still in Montreal and that the information they gave us the day before was wrong.. Pfff, they arrived but 48 hours later ... Better late than never as they say!

 

We did all our administration paperwork the day after our arrival.

First step : We started with the bank in order to have a proof of address (we stayed at my sister when we arrived).

Second step : We took a mobile phone line, which was a second proof of address.

Third step : After step 1 and 2, we had two supporting documents to do our Canadian administration paperwork. This includes: applying for a Social Insurance Number (SIN) to Service Canada, changing your driver's license (Service New Brunswick - SNB) and Medicare (SNB). We received everything within three weeks of our arrival.

 

We were ready to visit houses and to look for a job!

IMG_1638.JPG

NOS PREMIERS PAS AU CANADA

" Le succès est une conséquence et non un but "

L'excitation est à son comble à la descente de l'avion. Après 8 heures de vol nous voilà sur le sol Canadien à l'aéroport international de Montréal à deux doigts de concrétiser notre rêve canadien .

Nous avons atterri le mercredi 28 août 2019 à l’aéroport de Montréal. Afin de faire valider votre Résidence Permanente (RP) vous devez passer par un bureau d’immigration. Nous avions 1h30 d’escale pour prendre le vol qui faisait ensuite Montréal-Fredericton. Petit conseil : prenez une escale d’au moins 4h ! Nous avons raté notre correspondance pour Fredericton et Air Canada nous ont dit que nos bagages étaient partis sans nous sur le vol que nous devions prendre initialement. Nous avons passé une nuit sans bagages et sans change ! Quel beau début en tant que RP ...

Nous avons pris notre vol le lendemain, jour de mon anniversaire ! Nous étions tellement contents d’être enfin arrivés ! Bon.. comme une immigration sans petites histoires à raconter ne serait pas vraiment une immigration réussie et bien arrivé au carrousel des bagages on a eu la surprise d’apprendre qu’en fait nos bagages n’étaient pas partis sans nous ! Ouf, ils sont arrivés mais avec 48 heures de retard… Mieux vaut tard que jamais comme on dit !

 

Nous avons fait toutes nos démarches administratives dès le lendemain de notre arrivée.

Première étape : Nous avons commencé par la banque afin d’avoir un justificatif de domicile (nous avons résidé chez ma sœur à notre arrivée le temps d’avoir notre maison.

Deuxième étape : Nous avons pris une ligne téléphonique mobile, ce qui a constitué un deuxième justificatif de domicile.

Troisième étape : Après l’étape 1 et 2, nous avions deux justificatifs pour faire nos démarches administratives canadienne. Cela comprend : la demande de Numéro d’Assuré Social (NAS) à Service Canada, le changement du permis de conduire (Service Nouveau-Brunswick - SNB) et la Medicare (SNB). Nous avons tout reçu les trois semaines suivant notre arrivée.

 

Nous étions parés pour visiter des maisons et chercher un travail !